Central sides feature several Black Sticks

Central have named their teams to contest the 2019 Ford NHL in Tauranga beginning on the 14th September. Both sides will be bolstered with plenty of international hockey experience including former Vantage Black Sticks Captains Kayla Whitelock and Shea McAleese. 

Central Mysticks

Georgia BarnettManawatu
Kaitlin CotterHawkes Bay
Saffy CribbTaranaki
Anna CrowleyTaranaki
Casey CrowleyTaranaki
Michaela CurtisHorowhenua
Emily GaddumManawatu
Ellen KunzliNorth Harbour
Clodagh McCullough North Harbour
Pippa NormanRangitikei
Holly PearsonTaranaki
Emma RaineyWanganui
Hope RalphTaranaki
Olivia ShannonRangitikei
Verity SharlandManawatu
Arabella ShieldHawkes Bay
Nicole WalravenSouth Africa
Kayla WhitelockManawatu
Anna WilcocksManawatu
Head Coach: Corey Prouting
Assistant Coach: Marcus Emery
Manager: Valerie Simpson 

The Central Mysticks have named a formidable side for the 2019 Ford NHL. The side will be led by former Vantage Black Sticks in Pippa Norman, Kayla Whitelock and Emily Gaddum, they will be joined by current Black Sticks in Olivia Shannon and Holly Pearson. Central finished the 2018 Ford NHL in 2nd place losing a tough final to the North Harbour Women. The team will be looking to build some good momentum in the early part of the competition in what is shaping up to be an exciting and wide-open Ford NHL. Nicole Walraven returns for a second straight year as the international guest player, Walraven is a proven international player who competed for South Africa at the 2018 Hockey World Cup in London. 


14thSeptember 4:30pm vs Northland

15thSeptember 5:45pm vs Capital

16thSeptember 7:30pm vs Midlands 

2018 Final Placing: 2nd

Central Mavericks

Martin AtkinsonWanganui
Matthew BroughamManawatu
Orin BurmesterTaranaki
Matthew ChardManawatu
Benjamin CollierTaranaki
Michell CroninManawatu
Samuel DaviesHorowhenua
Dominic DixonHawkes Bay
Sean FindlayHawkes Bay
Angus GriffinManawatu
Samuel HihaHawkes Bay
Shea McAleeseHawkes Bay
Jason PeelHorowhenua
Andrew ScanlonAustralia
Thomas SchaareTaranaki
Dylan ThomasHawkes Bay
Jordan TolchardHawkes Bay
Mac WilcoxPoverty Bay
Head Coach: Tony Brougham
Assistant Coach: Ben Collier 
Manager: David Stones

The Central Mavericks have named a similar squad to 2018 and will be hoping for a higher finish than their 5th place in the 2018 tournament. The side has plenty of international experience with Shea McAleese, Mac Wilcox, Dylan Thomas, Dominic Dixon, Martin Atkinson and Ben Collier all having suited up for the Vantage Black Sticks. This side possesses plenty of firepower to be able to trouble any defence that they are matched up against. Their first match against Auckland will be a highly entertaining match with both sides naming squads that have a tendency for attacking hockey.


14thSeptember 2:15pm vs Auckland

15thSeptember 12:00pm vs Capital

17thSeptember 3:30pm vs Tasmania 

2018 Final Placing: 5th

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 2019FordNHL_EmailBanner-1024x236.png
Posted on Friday, 30 August, 2019 | NHLOtherSlider