Our Masters hockey community has grown tremendously over the years. In March 2019, the annual National Masters Tournament had 81 teams from across the country – a record number of teams at the tournament. This made it New Zealand’s largest domestic hockey tournament to date. 

Below you will find information about all things Masters, including a highlight video from the 2019 National Masters Tournament.


 Stay up to date with all things Masters by joining the Hockey New Zealand Masters Facebook Group.

2020 National Masters

The National Masters Tournament will be returning to Christchurch in 2020.  Hockey in Canterbury is going from strength to strength and with the opening of the Nga Puna Wai facility it is a great time to bring our largest domestic tournament to Christchurch. The tournament will be held from the 23rd to the 29th February at Nga Puna Wai and Nunweek Park.  Hockey New Zealand looks forward to working with Canterbury Hockey and Christchurch City Council to deliver a great experience for all the participants.

Dates: 23-29 February

Location: Nga Puna Wai and Nunweek Park

Masters Advisory Group

Hockey New Zealand have established a Masters Advisory Group to assist us with the growth and development of masters hockey throughout New Zealand. The main objective of the group is to help grow masters hockey by advising Hockey New Zealand about a range of opportunities across the community.

World Masters Hockey Officiating Expressions of Interest

World Masters Hockey is seeking people interested in officiating at the various World Cup tournaments listed below:
35 & 40 Men and Women – Nottingham, England – 8-17 August
45 & 50 Men and Women – Cape Town, South Africa – 19-29 September
55 & Spirit Men & 55, 60, 65 & Spirit Women – Cape Town, South Africa – 19 – 29 September
60, 65, 70 & 75 Men – Tokyo, Japan – 5-15 November
Roles required at each tournament are
  • Technical Delegates (TD’s)
  • Assistant Technical Delegates
  • Umpires Managers (UM’s)
  • Assistant Umpires Managers
  • Technical Officials
  • Judges
All applications will be assessed based on experience and qualifications.
If you are interested in being part of these fantastic tournaments please complete the Expressions of Interest Form by 18th August, 2019.

Current Masters Advisory Group (appointed October 1st, 2017):
    • Tania Cassidy (3 year term) – Lower South Island
    • Anil Nathoo (3 year term) – Upper North Island
    • Lee Munt (2 year term) – Central South Island
    • Nicki Sayers (2 year term) – Lower North Island/Upper South Island

Masters Advisory Group Terms of Reference – Click here

Advisory Group Meeting Minutes

Trans-Tasman Masters Team Lists

2019 National Master Tournament Highlights