2024 National Indoor Squads Named

After an exciting 2022/23-year culminating in the FIH Indoor World Cup in South Africa, the program is ready to continue momentum with several activities scheduled for the next 12 months including a critical Oceania World Cup Qualifier in June. We continue to have commitment from Head Coaches Reiner Vellinga and Gaye Tarrant who are looking forward to being able to build on what is becoming successful indoor programmes.

After successful national and age group tournaments and representation at the Australian Under 21 Championships the coaches have settled on national squads to begin preparing for the Oceania Championship.  The squads have attracted representation from eligible players from across New Zealand and Australia. While international indoor experience may still be light across the squads there is considerable regional and international experience being brought across from the outdoor game. That coupled with the ability of the sport to attract top quality local and international coaches should assist with continuing the steep learning curve and improved performances that have already captured attention across the international indoor landscape.

The winner will gain automatic selection to the 2025 Indoor World Cup.

Coaches Comments

“The selection of this squad is the next step to developing a sustainable indoor program in New Zealand. There is a great mix of players who have the experience of the World Cup and the Malaysian tour in 2023 along with some players who were identified through the national championships. The camps we have planned for the squad allows us to expose more players to the fast-paced game and improve the standard of indoor throughout New Zealand. Building competition for places in the teams ultimately ensures all players continue to search for improvement. It was exciting to see the U/21 teams improvement throughout the Australian Nationals in January instantly putting upwards pressure on the open squad. Whilst the Oceania is our main focus for the short term, my coaching team of Jolene Casey, John Carroll and myself will be making sure we develop a wider base with an understanding of the game and the unique skills required to play at the international level.”

Gaye Tarrant

“Our current squad has showcased exceptional performance at the national indoor tournament last November, a testament to their hard work and dedication. We have selected some promising new talent during this tournament, signalling a bright future ahead. It has been particularly thrilling to see interest from within the Black Sticks environment. Seeing the squad’s quality grow so rapidly is a clear indicator of the potential of the program and the supportive culture the team fosters. We’re thrilled to announce that in addition of Ben Collier we now also welcome Alex Fuestel from Germany as our new assistant coach, and we have Alysha Corby stepping in as our dedicated physiotherapist. As our squad continues to expand and evolve, we are filled with anticipation for the journey ahead. With our sights firmly set on the Oceania Championships, we are excited to embark on this next phase of preparation. Together, we are committed to achieving many successes and making our mark on the international stage.

Additionally, our partnership with Barrie Jennings’ S5 Hockey brings a wealth of resources and expertise to our squads. As a conditioning coach, Barrie’s profound understanding of athlete development and performance enhancement is set to revolutionize the way we prepare our players. His innovative conditioning techniques and strategies will equip our teams with the physical and mental edge needed to compete at the highest levels. This partnership underscores our commitment to excellence, ensuring that our players have access to the very best in sports science and conditioning.”

Reiner Vellinga

Mens Squad

Brennan Alexander-Parker (Hawkes Bay), Ben Allen (Waikato), Dean Armstrong (Waikato), Stephen Atkinson (Canterbury), Louis Beckert (Canterbury), Robbie Capizzi (North Harbour), Luka Clark (North Harbour), Brad Coxon (Waikato), Jonty Elms (Hawkes Bay), Dave Green (North Harbour), Tim Greenwood (Waikato), Angus Griffin (North Harbour), Joe Hanks (Hawkes Bay), Cam Hayde (Waikato), Isaac Houlbrooke (North Harbour), Will Lacey (North Harbour), Tim Neild (Waikato), Matt Ruetsch (Waikato), Max Ruffell (Wellington), Aidan Sarikaya (Waikato), Daniel Scanlon (Waikato), Netesh Sukha (North Harbour), Alexander Sumenko-Bucknell (Wairarapa), Matt Symonds (North Harbour), Dylan Thomas (Otago), Benedict van Woerkom (Wairarapa), Nic Woods (Waikato), Maks Wyndham-Smith (Waikato).

Womens Squad

Emily Brun (Hawkes Bay), Tegan Buchanan (Otago), Melissa Caird (Waikato), Hannah Cardno (Hawkes Bay), Grace Gibson (Manawatu), Aniwaka Haumaha (Wellington), Oriwa Hepi (Bay of Plenty), Sophie Hildesley (North Harbour), Ella Hyatt-Brown (North Harbour), Jess Kelly (Wellington), Alex Lukin (Waikato), Georgia Mayo (Hawkes Bay), Marijke McGoon (North Harbour), Kat Moffitt (North Harbour), Beth Norman (Manawatu), Pippa Norman (Manawatu), Kirsten Pearce (North Harbour), Mihi Pitirol (Bay of Plenty), Ahumairangi Raharuhi (Bay of Plenty), Deanna Ritchie (North Harbour), Anna Roberts (Hawkes Bay), Arabella Sheild (Canterbury), Madeleine Smith (Bay of Plenty), Kishona Thapachettri (Bay of Plenty), Madeleine Williamson (North Harbour), Anna Willocks (Canterbury)

Posted on Tuesday, 6 February, 2024 | Feature