Entries for 2022 Secondary School Tournaments Open

Entries for the 2022 Secondary School Tier 1, 2, 3 and 4 tournaments are now open.

This year’s tournaments will take place at multiple venues around the country from 29th August – 3rd September 2022 (Tier 1 and 2) and 29th August – 2nd September 2022 (Tier 3 and 4). Following the cancellation of the 2021 National Tournaments due to COVID-19 the 2021 Tournament Entries have rolled over to 2022. However, we please ask for your school to please reconfirm your entry for 2022 via the entry forms. Should your school no longer wish to enter a tournament and or change tournament please email regan.bain@hockeynz.co.nz. Likewise, if you wish to enter a 2022 and were not due to attend a 2021 tournament, please contact Regan Bain.

To view the full breakdown of all 2022 Secondary School Tournaments and locations click here.

To review the Tournament Structures & Changes made in 2021 click here.

Travelling outside your region (Tier 3 and 4)

If schools wish to travel outside their region, they will be placed on a waitlist. Should spaces become available, and the viability of the local tournament is not impacted, schools will be allocated through a random selection process.

Hockey NZ understands some schools wish to travel out of their regions to enhance the tournament experience for participants. We will look to honour this as best we can – provided no local schools miss out on an opportunity.

Entry period

Entries for the 2022 Secondary School Tournaments open on Wednesday 9th March and close on Friday 13th May 2022. Hockey NZ will confirm tournament entries by Friday 27th May 2022

We ask that you please hold off any bookings until after tournament confirmation has been received.

Entry costs

Tournament entry costs will be confirmed by Friday 27th May 2022.


Hockey NZ will livestream some matches at the Tier 1 and 2 tournaments and potentially Tier 3 and 4 if resources allow. Livestreaming has become very popular and allows our sport to reach a greater audience and showcase the many positive messages that exist through school sport participation.

If your school wishes to opt out of this streaming process please email Regan Bain, National Tournament Coordinator at regan.bain@hockeynz.co.nz

Entry forms

Below are entry form links to all Secondary School Tournaments.

Boys – Rankin Cup/India Shield (Tier 1 & 2) – North Harbour

Girls – Federation Cup/ Marie Fry Trophy (Tier 1 & 2) – Hawkes Bay


Upper North Island

Pukekohe – Tier 3

Boys – Mayhill Cup

Girls – Chica Gilmer

Hamilton – Tier 3

Boys – Olympic Stick

Girls – Mary Clinton Cup

Auckland – Tier 4



Whakatane – Tier 4




Lower North Island

Palmerston North – Tier 3

Boys – Founders Cup

Girls – Jenny Hair Cup

Wairarapa – Tier 3

Boys – Woolaston Trophy

Girls – Kate Trolove Cup

Gisborne – Tier 4

Girls – (Rosemary O’Brien)

Stratford – Tier 4

Boys –

Girls – (Eveline Hankers Memorial)


South Island

Nelson – Tier 3

Boys – Coaches Cup

Girls – Jenny McDonald Cup

Christchurch – Tier 3

Boys – Johnson Cup

Girls – Audrey Timlin Memorial

Ashburton – Tier 4




MIXED and 2nd XI

South Island Mixed – Gore

North Island Mixed – Whangarei

Boys 2XI Tournament Galletly Cup – Blenheim

Girls 2XI Tournament Chris Arthur Cup – Taupo


Posted on Tuesday, 8 March, 2022 | CommunityFeatureSecondary Schools