Entries open for 2021 Secondary School Tournaments

Entries for the 2021 Secondary School Tier 1, 2, 3 and 4 tournaments are now open.

This year’s tournaments will take place at multiple venues around the country from 30 August – 4 September (Tier 1 and 2) and 30 August – 3 September (Tier 3 and 4).

To view the full breakdown of all 2021 Secondary School Tournaments and locations click here.

To review the changes for 2021 and beyond click here.

Travelling outside your region (Tier 3 and 4)

If schools wish to travel outside their region, they will be placed on a waitlist. Should spaces become available and the viability of the local tournament is not impacted, schools will be allocated through a random selection process.

Hockey NZ understands some schools wish to travel out of their regions to enhance the tournament experience for participants. We will look to honour this as best we can – provided no local schools miss out on an opportunity.

Entry period

Entries for the 2021 Secondary School Tournaments open on Wednesday 17 February and close on Friday 9 April. Hockey NZ will confirm tournament entries by Friday 23 April.

We ask that you please hold off any bookings until after tournament confirmation has been received.

Entry costs

Tournament entry costs will be confirmed by Friday 23 April.


Hockey NZ will livestream some matches at the Tier 1 and 2 tournaments and potentially Tier 3 and 4 if resources allow. Livestreaming has become very popular and allows our sport to reach a greater audience and showcase the many positive messages that exist through school sport participation.

If your school wishes to opt out of this streaming process please email Regan Bain, National Tournament Coordinator at regan.bain@hockeynz.co.nz

Entry forms

Below are entry form links to all Secondary School Tournaments.

Boys – Rankin Cup/India Shield (Tier 1 & 2) – North Harbour

Girls – Federation Cup/ Marie Fry Trophy (Tier 1 & 2) – Hawkes Bay


Upper North Island

Pukekohe – Tier 3

Boys – Mayhill Cup

Girls – Chica Gilmer

Hamilton – Tier 3

Boys – Olympic Stick

Girls – Mary Clinton Cup

Auckland – Tier 4

Boys – (NAME TBC)

Girls – (NAME TBC)

Whakatane – Tier 4

Boys – (NAME TBC)

Girls – (NAME TBC)


Lower North Island

Palmerston North – Tier 3

Boys – Founders Cup

Girls – Jenny Hair Cup

Wairarapa – Tier 3

Boys – Woolaston Trophy

Girls – Kate Trolove Cup

Gisborne – Tier 4

Boys – (NAME TBC)

Girls – (Rosemary O’Brien)

Stratford – Tier 4

Boys – (NAME TBC)

Girls – (Eveline Hankers Memorial)


South Island

Nelson – Tier 3

Boys – Coaches Cup

Girls – Jenny McDonald Cup

Christchurch – Tier 3

Boys – Johnson Cup

Girls – Audrey Timlin Memorial

Greymouth – Tier 4

Boys – (NAME TBC)

Girls – (NAME TBC)

Ashburton – Tier 4

Boys – (NAME TBC)

Girls – (NAME TBC)


MIXED and 2nd XI

South Island Mixed – Gore

North Island Mixed – Whangarei

Boys 2XI Tournament Galletly Cup – Blenheim

Girls 2XI Tournament Chris Arthur Cup – Taupo

Posted on Tuesday, 16 February, 2021 | FeatureSecondary Schools