Masters News


Please remember to fill in one registration form per team.

2024 Fees: $975.00 excluding GST per team.

To register a WOMEN’S team please click here.

To register a MEN’S team please click here.

 Entries will close on 10 December.


 The chance to coach a team at a home World Cup as well as the prospect of a campaign in South Africa has proved a real drawcard for coaches and managers in the Masters space.  After a very well supported Expression of Interest process, Hockey New Zealand is pleased to announce the appointment of team coaches, assistant coaches and managers for the 2024 Masters World Cups being held in Cape Town (M/W 035’s and 040’s, M 065 and 070+) and Auckland (M/W 045s,050’s, 055’s and 060’s and W065 +).

It is great to see several new coaches getting involved and the return of some successful coaches from previous international campaigns.

Recent succession planning initiatives have resulted the appointment of Jamie Carroll (Bay of Plenty) and Paresh Bhikha (North Harbour) to the Men’s 035’s side, taking over from Bill Tomkins who led the team since 2019 and oversaw their first victory over Australia earlier in the year. Bill will continue to provide his experience and advice in non-coaching roles as required. Former South African Olympian, Thornton McDade (Auckland) and Caine Henwood (Wellington) join the 045’s and 040’s respectively as an assistant coaches.

On the women’s side, Ryan Mason (North Harbour) and Toby Platt (Taranaki) take over the 035’s following their successful stint as assistant coaches at Trans-Tasman. The 045’s side sees the return of Nikki Cooper (Furmage) and the 055’s welcomes back Mike Yates.

We are still seeking coaches and a manager for the men’s 065’s side and a manager for the w035’s side.

The full list if appointments is:

Men Coach Assistant Coach Manager
M035 Jamie Carroll Paresh Bhikha Kere Mitai
M040 Craig Williams Caine Henwood Ray Neill
M045 Craig Williams Thornton McDade Ray Neill
M050 Brent Iggo Lee Munt Annie Clarkson
M055 Charlie Oscroft Marc Wilcox
M060 Gene Coates-Reid Joanne Coates-Reid
M070 Patrick Barry Warren Valadares
Women Coach Assistant Coach Manager
W035 Ryan Mason Toby Platt TBC
W040 Leah Murphy Kirsten Asher
W045 Nikki Cooper Hannah Patterson
W050 Nichola Sherriff Lyn Steele
W055 Mike Yates Lynda West
W060 Gill Gemming Kevin Ryan
W065 Julie O’Hara Tania Rameka