Hockey NZ award winners showcase strong community spirit

Hockey New Zealand is delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 edition of its annual awards.

There were lots of wonderful people nominated which made it difficult to narrow down the awards to a list of finalists, let alone choose a winner.

Our sport wouldn’t be what it is if it wasn’t for the dedication and sacrifice of individuals, who mostly volunteer, and they are responsible for creating experiences that enable more people to see, experience, and love hockey. 


Volunteer of the Year:

  • Hannah Le Quesne (North Harbour)
  • Richard Baggs (Waikato)
  • Andrew Bethwaite (Manawatu)
  • Geoff Williamson (Tauranga)

Most Outstanding Young Person of the Year:

  • Emily Gordon (North Harbour)
  • Benjamin Pilmore-Evans (Waikato)
  • Alyssa Velluppillai (Nelson)

Club of the Year:

  • Hornby Hockey Club (Canterbury)
  • Omanu Beach Hockey Club (Tauranga)

Community Initiative of the Year:

  • Te Hōnonga a Iwi Rosedale Restoration Project (North Harbour)
  • Disability Play Partnership (Canterbury)
  • Hockey for Everyone (Nelson)

Technical Official of the Year:

  • David Potter (Counties-Manukau)
  • Nicola Rankin (Canterbury)
  • Jackie Tomlinson (Manawatu)

Community Umpire of the Year:

  • Emma Bromell (Invercargill)
  • Alexander Stokes (Waikato)

Most Promising Female Umpire of the Year:

  • Sara Cox (Canterbury)
  • Lexie Etherington (Wellington)
  • Sabina East (North Harbour)

Most Promising Male Umpire of the Year:

  • Ethan Booth (Canterbury)
  • Chris Hill (Wellington)
  • Michael Marychurch (North Harbour)

Male Umpire of the Year:

  • Bevan Nichol (Waikato)
  • David Tomlinson (Manawatu)
  • Gareth Greenfield (Canterbury)

Female Umpire of the Year:

  • Amber Church (Poverty Bay)
  • Katrina Turner (Canterbury)
  • Kelly Hudson (Tauranga)

Outstanding Contribution to Coaching:

  • Sunjay Ganda (Canterbury)
  • Ben Grant (South Canterbury)
  • Brandon Roach (Manawatū)


Posted on Monday, 20 November, 2023 | Feature